Application Form

2009 Scholarship Award Winners
In 2009, the Lucretia H. Richter Scholarship Committee hosted its annual luncheon for the purpose of awarding scholarships to this year's recipients. Committee and many other members of the Scholarship Fund organization recognized five outstanding local nursing students for their academics, their commitments to nursing and their prospects for successful careers in nursing.  Each was introduced by a Committee member, and the details of their nursing education highlighted by their sponsor from the Nursing Department of their school.  Each was then presented with a check for $1,000.00 in recognition of their excellence. 

Below are pictured the winners of the Lu Richter Scholarships and, indiviually, with their sponsors, their presenters, and some family members.  The Committee wishes to thank all students who applied for this scholarship and to congratulate this year's recipients.

Scholarship Winners: Sandra Ballew from Gnesee Community College with (l.to r.), presenter Sonja Poe; husband, Justin; Instructor, Tonya Passamonte; and, Clinical Instuctor, Carolyn Putnam.

#2. Sarah Gerwitz from St. John Fisher College with presenter, Mary Jule Welch; daughter, Emma; fiance, Josh.  Not pictured, sponsor Sharon Stone.

#3. Maria Hartman from SUNY Brockport with presenter Monica Cloonan; Clinical Instructor, Jennifer Reed; and, Instructor, Pam Reamer.


#4. Edward Stines from Nazareth College with his wife, Heather, and their children; Department of Nursing Chair, Marie O'Toole; presenter and Associate Professor, Georgia Millor; Professor of Nursing, Maureen Freedman.

Amanda Torregrossa from Finger Lakes Community College with presenter Carol Agnew; Assistant Professor, Barbara Selvek; guest, Remy Oksander; and, Nursing Technical Specialist, Dorothy Oswald.

  *Nursing Department faculty are not members of the Scholarship Selection Committee.